You are here

News: Wednesday, November 7th, 2018

New Board of Education Sworn-in to Office

Seven trustees were sworn-in at last night’s inaugural meeting of the Board of Education for the Abbotsford School District. Korky Neufeld joined incumbents Phil Anderson, Freddy Latham, Rhonda Pauls, Stan Petersen, Preet Rai and Shirley Wilson. The Abbotsford Board of Education will serve from 2018-2022.

In addition to last night’s swearing-in ceremony, a Chair and Vice-Chair were nominated by the group of seven. Stan Petersen and Rhonda Pauls, both elected by acclamation, will serve as Chair and Vice-Chair for the Abbotsford Board of Education for 2018-2019.

In his first remarks as Board Chair, Petersen noted that it is both an exciting and challenging time for the Abbotsford School District. As student enrollment continues to grow and an exciting revised curriculum is now available to students, the district faces the challenges of school capacity and curriculum implementation. However, the Board of Education remains focused on the district’s strategic direction of preparing students for a lifetime of success.

“The strategic plan that the Board developed in 2014 continues to pave a positive path for our district’s students and staff, and I look forward to continuing with the implementation of this plan,” noted Chair Petersen, as he spoke to the audience during the inaugural meeting. “With the district’s focus on developing a progressive workforce, optimizing our use of resources and providing engaging opportunities for our parents and the community, we are confident we will continue to see improved success for all students.”

The first regular meeting of the Board of Education will take place November 13, 2018, 7:00 pm at the School Board Office.

Media Contact:

Kayla Stuckart, Manager of Communications
Phone: (604) 859 – 4891 ext. 1206